Reading time: 10 minutes
In this article, you will learn about:
1. Project Sharing for Guest Users
The Project Sharing feature allows you to establish direct communications with your customers to follow up on projects without the need for a mediator between the customer and the team.
This is part of the Guest User feature, which involves securely sharing information via an extranet at no additional cost.
To share your projects with people outside your Runrun.it account, click on Company in the menu at the top of the screen, and then on the Projects option. This command will take you to a page with all the projects in your company.
There are two ways to share a project. The first is through the three dots icon. Clicking on the icon will allow you to share a project.
Here you can add invited users’ e-mails. You can also select which items you wish to share: Project Tasks, Due date, Stage, Percentage Hours, or Percentage Tasks.
Another simple way to share involves opening the desired project, and clicking on the Share icon:
1. 1 Task sharing
If you need to share one or more specific tasks, select them and click on Share, on the top right of the task layout. If you want to learn more about this feature, you can read about it here.
1.2. Sharing every task in a Project
In addition to sharing attachments and info about a project’s progress, you can also share all the tasks that make up the project. To do this, activate the Project Tasks selector.
2. Guests can access the Shared Task page
When you share a project, an invitation is sent via e-mail to the recipient with the context message if you have written it.
By clicking the Open option, you can access the shared project, which is only available to invited users. There is no public access permission.
2.1 Accessing all Shared Tasks
As in the previous stage, when a guest user clicks Open, they are redirected to a Runrun.it page with a preview of the shared data. To access the shared task, click on the project. In cases where there is more than one shared task, click on Tasks in the upper left-hand corner of the screen, as in the image below:
All shared tasks will be listed along with the data that has been shared, such as Stage and Percentage Progress for each task.
2.2 Multiple accounts
To facilitate the management of invited users’ data, users who were invited to approve and monitor materials from more than one company can access them on the same page, simply by changing the Company from which they want to see the shared tasks and projects.
3. Project Stage
To make the current status of your project easier to identify, use the Project Stage feature. This field gives you the freedom to define custom stages and colors from your company’s processes and workflows, making it even easier for non-team-members to identify the project’s current stage.
To do this, view the Company > Projects screen in list mode, and you’ll be able to see the Stage column option. This feature has pre-defined options that can be changed and deleted at will.
You can manage Stages on this same screen. Click on Add, and a menu will appear where you can select another Stage, Delete or Edit existing ones or Create a new one.
This serves to streamline your team’s internal flows and keep you and any invited users up to date. To make the Stage visible to the invited user, check the Stage option in the sharing window.
4. Project Chat
Use the Project Chat capability to boost communications among your team users and any guests (customers or external partners). Your employees will be able to chat about the project and not just specific tasks.
To access the feature, click on Company in the top left corner of the Runrun.it screen. Next, select the Project option and change the screen page’s viewing mode to list. The Project Chat column will then appear.
This feature is ideal because it allows project participants to stay on the same page, and any exchanges are recorded in case anyone needs to follow the project’s evolution.
Your team also has two separate areas for exchanging messages: when you select Project Members, messages can only be accessed by employees who have access to the Project.
Selecting the Guest column makes the chat available to both your team members and any guest users (guest users are people external to Runrun.it, meaning they don’t consume an account license), who have been granted access to the project - usually customers or partners.
This feature creates a type of extranet that links team members and guests, permitting the exchange of information in a direct and unbureaucratic way.
Even if you haven’t shared the project with any guests, there’s the option of sharing from the guest chat, as shown in the figure below:
There’s an alternative way to access the project chat, select the desired project at Company > Project. Besides seeing the project information, in the upper right corner, there is the icon with the Chat option, as shown in the figure below:
Runrun.it monitors and informs you of decision-making and task progress. With the functionality to include customers, getting everyone on the same page is even more essential. To do this, check out who will receive e-mail updates.
5.1. E-mails to Runrun.it Users
The allocated user, followers and the project creators will receive updates by e-mail with the update:
1. When projects are shared.
5.2. E-mails to Guests
Project guests receive e-mails when:
1. A project is shared with their e-mail.
5.3 Removing guest access
Project sharing can be disabled at any time. When this is done, any previously invited guests will be directed to the following screen:
If you want to disable project sharing for your account, edit your settings as follows:
6. Limits to the number of invited users
The permitted number of Guest Users varies depending on your plan. The free version includes up to 50 e-mails for guest users. Our business plan provides up to 100 e-mails, while the Enterprise has no limits to invited users.
Do you have any questions? Contact us by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org or send us a message via chat.